Dayton Philharmonic Masterworks Series – 2019-2020

Haydn’s Creation: Season Opening Spectacular

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Saturday, September 21, 2019

3:00 pm Sunday, September 22, 2019


HAYDN The Creation

A DPAA SIGNATURE EVENT
DAYTON BALLET │ DAYTON OPERA │DAYTON PHILHARMONIC

Beethoven's 5th and Tchaikovsky

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Friday, October 4, 2019

8:00 pm Saturday, October 5, 2019


PUTS Inspiring Beethoven
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5

STEWART GOODYEAR piano

Messiaen's Turangalîla

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Friday, October 18, 2019

8:00 pm Saturday, October 19, 2019


MESSIAEN Turangalîla Symphony

MICHAEL CHERTOCK piano
ESTELLE LEMIRE ondes Martenot

*Not included in Masterworks 5 Series

Beethoven and Rachmaninoff

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Friday, January 10, 2020

8:00 pm Saturday, January 11, 2020


L. BOULANGER D'un matin de printemps
BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto
RACHMANINOFF Symphonic Dances

JESSICA HUNG violin

Beethoven's 6th and Mozart

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Friday, February 21, 2020

8:00 pm Saturday, February 22, 2020


COPLAND Appalachian Spring Suite
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 21
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 6, "Pastoral"

GAVIN GEORGE piano

Alpine Symphony

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Friday, March 27, 2020

8:00 pm Saturday, March 28, 2020


LUCAS RICHMAN Symphony: This Will Be Our Reply
STRAUSS An Alpine Symphony

DAYTON PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA CHORUS

Beethoven's 1st and The Firebird

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Friday, May 8, 2020

8:00 pm Saturday, May 9, 2020


ARTURO MÁRQUEZ Danzón No. 2
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1
STRAUSS Oboe Concerto
STRAVINSKY  Suite from The Firebird (1919)

EILEEN WHALEN oboe
KEITARO HARADA guest conductor

Beethoven's Eroica

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Friday, June 5, 2020

8:00 pm Saturday, June 6, 2020


WAGNER Overture to Rienzi
SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No. 1
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 3, "Eroica"

MARK KOSOWER cello

Wildcard


Masterworks 9 Subscribers: Choose any additional concert or performance from the current 2019-2020 DPAA Season of Titans, including SuperPops, Rockin', Family, Recital, Ballet, Opera or Special Events (excluding concerts in the Film Series) now or any time during the season.


Special Events

New Year's Eve: Bella Italia!

Schuster Center

8:00 pm Tuesday, December 31, 2019


Ring in the New Year with the Dayton Philharmonic Orchestra and two outstanding vocalists from Dayton Opera in a feast for the senses as we journey to Bella Italia!

*Haydn's Creation and Messiaen's Turangalîla are not included in Masterworks 6 Series